Into The Wind

“Into The Wind” by Jake Ducey is a story/book about his journey traveling the world for a couple of months, in search of his real meaning of life. Ironically, at the end of his journey, he found out, that everything he was looking for, is not to be found in the physical world, but is already within him. Like the monk told him: “In your life it took you until you traveled around the physical world for months before you found what you wanted, which was actually within yourself.” The book is full of quotes and “real stuff”, which I have heard before, but which I can relate to just recently now. I myself has been on the run for a long time, traveling the whole world, but wasn´t even aware of what I was looking for. Now I know its been some kind of running away, some sort of getting distracted, looking for something new, only to find out, when I got back home, that I wasn´t satisfied, wasn´t happy at all. So I went for the next travel, filling up a hole for a short period of time, just to find out that that hole was empty again after a while. So what to do? Only one way left – to go in search within yourself! “It´s true, all begins within not without!”. That means you have to face your deepest fears, which I can tell from my experiences is very challenging – and I´m just at the beginning. But better to start now than never. I still love traveling and photographing very much and it fills my soul, but I don´t need it all the time anymore, like the past three years. Sounds weird, even to me, but there are more important things in the world than filling up your ego. Once again, I´m very touched by what the monk had to say: “…that if you aren´t making someone else´s life better, then you are wasting your time”. “…because those you give will receive.” I don´t know where this journey will lead me, but the journey within myself is definitely worth looking for.

By the way – the images are from my latest sojourn in search of the night sky (…and enlightenment 😉 ) @ Staller Sattel, Antholz Valley, South Tyrol, Italy. Nothing can describe the beauty and the joy of spending a night out under the stars and the rising Moon. Enjoy!

.

Antholz.21.1.14.850-1

Destination arrived…

.

Antholz.21.1.14.850-2

Fort from WW II…

.

Antholz.21.1.14.850-3

Camping de Luxe…

.

Antholz.21.1.14.850-5

Around 10:00 pm…

.

Antholz.21.1.14.850-6

Around 12:00 pm, the rising Moon in the back illuminating the scenery…

.

Antholz.21.1.14.850-7

Around 5:00 am, a starry night and Jupiter above the ridge…

.

Antholz.21.1.14.850-8

Pre-dawn and Venus Belt…

.

Antholz.21.1.14.850-9

First light…

.

Antholz.21.1.14.850-10

Camp in the morning and  Moon…

.

Antholz.21.1.14.850-11

Again, camping de Luxe…

.

Antholz.21.1.14.850-13

Seven frame vertical pano, handheld with the G1X…

.

Antholz.21.1.14.850-12

Moon setting above Rieserferner Ridge, South Tyrol…

.

Leave a Reply

