My Perigee Moon

There has been some sort of hype lately on the internet about this years perigee moon. To be honest, I was infected too. The moon got its closest point to earth in its orbit on May 6th in the morning – but then we were supposed to have rain. So I took my gear on Friday and started taking images of the almost full moon, just in case  for ” I have what I have”. On Saturday I went to the Munich Airport in hope to get some cool shots of the rising full moon during twilight, but its been pretty cloudy at the estimated moon rise time. Of course, I managed to shoot  some other really pretty cool shots which I´ll show in another post.  Did I mention that it is the best time for shooting the full moon the day before “real full moon”? Because on full moon´s day its to dark already and on the day before you get a nice “twilight background”.

There was no chance of getting the full moon on Sunday, but I still had that image in my head of the perigee moon rising behind the Munich Airport. And guess what, it cleared up on Monday, I checked TPE, packed my stuff and was off again, just in time before the moon rise at 10:36 pm. Just minutes after I had hurried up my gear, I got visited by the cops, who were just curious what I´m doing here, close to the airport, at nights, dressed in black and with all that gear. They were pretty friendly – cool back-up. Minutes later, the moon rose, and the race started, running back and force, searching for the best views and angles. I´ve spent so many hours out there the last couple of days and shot a couple of hundred images, but the only one I´m showing today sums everything up, I think! For me, photography, and especially doing it at nights, got something  I really can´t explain – some kind of magic. Enjoy!

“The still 98% illuminated perigee moon rises above the Munich Airport, Germany, 7th May 2012, the day after ´Super Full Moon`.”

The foreground is a in-camera HDR shot (jpg), while the Moon is a single Raw image, converted in LR 3 and stacked together in StarStax.

Leave a Reply

