The Place I Grew Up

Time is moving in fractals, they say. Things that happened in the past are returning in the future. Hmm. This solitary oak tree in the middle of my family´s fields is like a fractal to me. When I was a young boy, I used to scout around this spot while it´s still been a hop field at that time. As an adolescent, I had to help my parents a lot out on  the fields, mostly during hop and straw harvest. And now, as a grown up, I stroll around these fields to photograph the night sky. Fractals are coming like waves, like a sine curve. Going up, going down. My first wave has been one of joy, while I was a kid playing around at the fields, the second one included a lot of hard work during my teenage time, and now, the joy is back again! They say the good thing about fractals are that they are some kind of predictable – funny, huh. Looks like that fits to me and this fantastic spot on which I share so many memories over such a long period of time. Though I´ll be moving away from my home town in the next couple of weeks, I´ll be definitely returning to the old oak tree as often I can. Enjoy!

The Moon and Jupiter (below left of Moon) with the oak tree…

“My” solitary oak tree, surrounded by the stars…

Like before, but as startrails, single image, 16 min.

“I was like a boy playing on the sea-shore, and diverting myself now and then finding a smoother pebble or a prettier shell than ordinary, whilst the great ocean of truth lay all undiscovered before me.”
(Sir Isaac Newton, English Mathematician,1643-1727)
6 thoughts on “The Place I Grew Up

Leave a Reply

