Halo Of The Moon – Including Jupiter

Woah! I´m still hooked by yesterday night´s sight! Being out with my telescope in my backyard for watching and photographing the “Golden Handle” of the moon, I almost missed this rare celestial sight. Just looking through the viewfinder of my camera  – which is attached to the Meade 8″ – I didn´t see what was forming up in the sky. After bringing back all the gear into the house, I stepped outside again just to see if I had something left there, as my view went towards the moon again. Never seen something like that before. The moon and jupiter were pretty close, which I knew and had seen the whole evening. But then, a halo had built up around them. A halo around the moon or the sun appears sometimes, but a halo of the moon in conjunction with another planet, in this case Jupiter, hmm, very rare, I reckon. If you interested in technical details about halos, go here: http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halo_(Lichteffekt) or here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halo_(optical_phenomenon). This was maybe a once in a lifetime view! Enjoy…

 

Halo of the moon – including Jupiter

 

Halo without foreground

 

Moon and Jupiter around the constellation of “Pisces” (spikes of the moon: with small aperture f16)

 

Moon without “spikes”: f4.5

 

“We all have two lives. The one we are given and the one we create.”

(Mary Chapin Carpenter, American musician)

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Halo Of The Moon – Including Jupiter

Leave a Reply

