The Icefields Parkway

Considered to be one of the most scenic drives in the world,  I could verify this statement by myself while I was touring western Canada for two weeks in late January/early February 2011. Starting north of Lake Louise and leading some 230 km up to Jasper, it connects the world renowned national parks of Banff and Jasper in the state of Alberta, Western Canada. But what has made this part of my trip so special has been the fact, that it´s been  winter, and the temperature has been down to some minus 33°C for a couple of days (measured around 5:30 am)! Pretty cold nights if you are camping in the car, in my case a rented Hyundai SUV. Nonetheless, it´s been fantastic for travelling and photographing. Not much traffic on the road (the Parkway is closed to heavy-duty trucks anyway) while it´s been snowing the days before and due to the cold weather set in the night before, I almost had the whole drive for myself. That means: just pulling over where I liked to stop, taking photos with setting up the tripod just where I wanted to, even in the middle of the road. And just before I hit the town of Jasper, I noticed something crossing the road in the far distance. What I first thought to be a wolf, turned out to be a big coyote, but my heart was beating like crazy while I was taking some photos of this hunter.  These experiences made this drive even more unforgettable for me and a lot of other great stories should have come to follow! I might do a summer trip too, so I can see what it looks like “uncovered”. Enjoy!

 

Along Parker Ridge (looking southeast) @ Banff NP

 

Along Parker Rigde (looking northwest) @ Banff NP 

 

Raven on fir @ Sunwapta Pass, Banff NP

 

Morning fog @ Sunwapta River, Jasper NP

 

Winter´s magic @ Sunwapta River, Jasper NP

 

 Winston Churchill Range @ Jasper NP

 

 Quartzite boulders (bodies?) between Jonas & Poboktan Creek

 

Endless Chain Ridge @ Jasper NP

 

Lunchtime @ Bubbling Springs, Jasper NP

 

 Posing @ ?

 

Coyote @ Wapiti Campground, Jasper NP

 

Just keep in mind…

 

Driving the Icefields Parkway @ ?

 

Be aware… @ Maligne Lake Road, Jasper NP

 

 

Again…be aware @ Maligne Lake Road, Jasper NP

 

 

If you need more information about The Icefields Parkway, Banff and Jasper National parks, be sure to check out Darwin Wiggetts ebooks: http://www.howtophotographthecanadianrockies.com/ !

 

 

“Often while traveling with a camera we arrive just as the sun slips over the horizon of a moment, too late to expose film, only time enough to expose our hearts.”

 “Be still with yourself until the object of your attention affirms your presence.”

(Quotes by Minor White, U.S.american photographer, 1908-1976)

 

 

 

(PS: If you know the two lacations with the “?”, you might drop me a note; Thanks)

2 thoughts on “The Icefields Parkway

Leave a Reply

