Destination: Canada

This is going to be a great trip! On Sunday 23th Jan. I´m leaving for my first trip overseas, which I do on my own, since I´ve been to Australia in 1999/2000. After quitting my old job, it´s a great oppurtunity doing that kind of stuff I like so much – travel and photography. My journey will lead me to all those great places like Banff, Jasper, Waterton and Glacier Nationalpark, right into the heart of the Rocky Mountains. Though I´ve been two times to Canada during my journey around the U.S. in 1992/93, I´vent seen that much of the canadian landscape. It´s also a great chance catching up with an old friend of mine – Kent Fenton. I met this guy in 1991 while I was travelling in Australia. Adventuring the west coast from Darwin to Perth, we had a great time for a couple of weeks.

 

(The photo above shows crossing Halls Creek/AUS at the beginning of the flood season).

The trip goes from 23th Jan. to 7th Feb., including a four day guided photo tour, based at the Aurum Lodge ( http://www.aurumlodge.com/english/english.htm ), located on Abraham Lake, shown on the first image. The tour is guided by Darwin Wiggett ( http://www.darwinwiggett.com/ ), one of Canada´s top five landscape photographers. The rest of the time I´m touring by myself with a rental car. There are so many more places to see, I´m still not sure where to go everywhere. If the weather is good, I might even drive up to Prince Rupert at the pacific coast and have a look at some old native indian culture. There is also a town called Hope, which is nothing in special, unless you are fan of “Rambo I”. I´m trying to post as much on my blog as possible while I´m on tour to keep you guys at home updated, depending on the availability of the internet. Finally I want to thank my family and especially my wife Sandra for making this long yearned dream of mine possible! There is nothing better than having a partner who is supporting/understanding/sharing what you are doing!

2 thoughts on “Destination: Canada

  1. Jose Lugar

    Howdy! I understand this is somewhat off-topic but I had to ask. Does running a well-established blog like yours require a large amount of work? I am brand new to running a blog but I do write in my diary daily. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my personal experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

    Reply
    1. wernerpriller Post author

      Hi Jose, it can be some work if you are editing a lot of photos; for me it takes the most time while writing in english; there is some very good information about blogging in a book called: “Vision Mongers:Making a Life and a Living in Photography” by David DuChemin; that would be good to start with;

      Reply

Leave a Reply

